History of Branch Services

Branch Library Service

Branch library service in St. Vincent and the Grenadines goes as far back as 1907 when the first out-district service was established in the town of Georgetown.  The Barrouallie Branch Library was started a few years later in 1912. No other library was established until 1951 when Calliaqua was opened, followed by Bequia, Layou and Union Island in 1952.

Many of the first branch libraries were started and operated by well meaning individuals in the community or by community organizations.  In some cases a subscription fee was charged for the use of the service.

The 1950 initiative to make library service free to all citizens and to bring all libraries under the administration of the government, through the public library in Kingstown, brought about an increase in the number of branch libraries in the country.

Today there are twenty-one branch libraries situated throughout the country, offering varying programmes and services to meet the diverse information needs of the community served. They are:

Mainland - Windward

  • Biabou            
  • Calliaqua                    
  • Colonaire                    
  • Doris McKie              
  • Evesham                     
  • Georgetown               
  • Greiggs                       
  • Kingstown                            
  • Marriaqua                   
  • Owia
  • Sandy Bay                  
  • South Rivers               


  • Mainland - Leeward
  • Barrouallie                  
  • Chateaubelair 
  • Layou                         
  • Questelles                   
  • Rose Hall
  • Spring Village



  • Bequia
  • Mayreau         
  • Union Island